Top Football Awards, Trophies and Honors in the NFL

It’s certainly no secret that the National Football League enjoys immense popularity these days. Over the years, the league has been known for its iconic players, celebrated teams and plenty of memorable moments, especially in the playoffs. In addition to all of this, the National Football League is also known for many of its famous and prestigious football awards and trophies. From the iconic Vince Lombardi Trophy to the MVP Award and countless others in between, the National Football League certainly has its fair share of celebrated football awards and trophies, many of which are known to the general public on a first name basis, attesting their popularity and the National Football League’s broad appeal these days. Here’s a quick look at just a few of the top football awards and trophies in the National Football League.

Vince Lombardi Trophy

The most prestigious and coveted of all football awards for teams in the National Football League, the famed Vince Lombardi is the most famous of all trophies in the league. Presented to the winning team of the Super Bowl each year, the celebrated Vince Lombardi Trophy is nearly as well known as many of the league’s top stars and teams! The trophy was commissioned in 1966 and first presented in 1967 to the top team in American football, to be determined by the AFL-NFL World Championship Game, now known as the Super Bowl. The trophy was initially won by the Green Bay Packers in its inaugural year and later renamed in honor of late Packers coach Vince Lombardi in 1970, who sadly passed away from cancer earlier that year. Since Super Bowl XXX, it has been presented on the field to the winning team as opposed to in their locker room. Unlike other famous professional sports trophies like the Stanley Cup and the Grey Cup, a new Vince Lombardi Trophy is created each year for the winning team. The Pittsburgh Steelers currently hold the most Vince Lombardi Trophies with six overall while the most recent winners are the Denver Broncos.

AP Most Valuable Player Award

The pinnacle of all football awards for individual players in the National Football League, the AP Most Valuable Player Award is presented each year to the single most outstanding player in the NFL. A similar award, the Joe F. Carr Trophy, was presented from 1938 to 1946, although the AP Most Valuable Player Award itself was first presented back in 1957. The inaugural winner of this prestigious award was Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns while other notable winners of the years include Peyton Manning, Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers, Brett Favre, Joe Montana and Terry Bradshaw. Peyton Manning currently holds the most MVP Awards, with five in total.

AP Coach of the Year

Another one of the top football honors in the NFL is the AP Coach of the Year Award. The award, presented annually by the Associated Press since 1957, is given to the top coach in the National Football League. Notable winners over the years include Ron Rivera, Bill Belichick, Bill Parcells and Mike Ditka.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s